Month: July 2012

  • Pantry

    At the end of June, right before we left on our summer trip, we had a home invasion.  I don’t know what else to call it.  We were suddenly invaded with two horrible pests…..mice and fleas.  I am not sure where the mice came from in the middle of the summer.  I am thinking a nest had hatched and they were suddenly large enough to run everywhere.  YUCK YUCK YUCK  I dislike mice.  So we set traps everywhere, and put out poison. About that same time we noticed a few fleas in the house.  We have a mini schnauzer. She is frequently in the house.  We had been putting Frontline on  her, but it seemed to lose its working power.  So we banished here from the house.  She had already infested us apparently.  So the night we left, I put off flea bombs (8 or so) Then we left on our trip. 
    problem #1 was that we should have put off one in each room
    problem #2 was that the house was setting closed up tight 
    and we were having 100+ temps that week.
    needless to say our hot house acted like an incubator.
    Ever since I have gotten home I have been fighting fleas.  The morning after I got home we set off 15 flea bombs. I washed carpets, sprayed flea spray in certain spots, spread flea powder, washed all the floors with lemon scented pine-sol……I think I have gotten ahead of them.  Every once in a while we see one and we spray that area real good.
    When we got home the mice seemed to be gone.  Yay!!  But the had wrecked havoc in my pantry.  So yesterday Cecilia and I took everything out of the pantry.  We scrubbed all the shelves, washed and dried the lids to all of the modular mates, scrubbed every can, jar or box, and washed the floor.  It was ALOT of work but looks so much better!!!