Month: August 2012

  • Bridal Shower

    We  had a little bridal shower for a gal from church, Michelle Burkholder, 
    who is marrying a guy from Nebraska David Ulrich.
       It was a joint effort.
      Some ladies made food, 
    Dorcas planned the games and Menu,
     Mom had devotions, 
    I was in charge of decorating, 
    Novalee provided the place and helped me set up!
    I was told she liked Chalk boards……
    I had Dad cut me out a bunch of wooden letter U’s
    I decorated on the top and front of Novalee’s old player piano
     that sits in their basement and on an old wooden table
    Since I had made Michelle’s wedding invitations
     i knew the colors were silver, purple & black
     
    we used purple asters on the table 
    and battery operated tea lights in buckets of coffee beans
    I think she is a coffee girl!!
    We used an old garden arbor silk flowers and vines 
    borrowed from my Aunt Jean 
    and some cute little lights I purchased at Hobby Lobby
     
    these little buckets were later filled with kisses 
    wrapped in silver and purple paper
    These nifty monogrammed napkins were a real steal 
    I picked them up at Old Tyme Pottery in Foley Alabama 
    for 50 cents a pack!
    my cousin Beverly (in law) made these
     cute purple and black cupcakes!
     
     
    The bride to be with her mother to her left
  • Mini Zimmerman Reunion

     the first weekend of August we had a spur of the moment Zimmerman reunion.  For the most part it was the ones from Iowa & Missouri who came.  So we averaged in the high 60′s as to how many were there for meals.  We had earlier tried to plan a big family reunion at a campground, but alas it kept not working out… so we just had a get together during the day on Saturday and again Sunday with 2 meals served each day.

    IMG_0026 IMG_0025

    On Saturday we met at the Lacey State Park Lodge in Keosauqua Iowa about a half hour north of where we live.  It was a very nice facility and only cost $75 for the day…I meant to take pics from the other two sides but never got it done.  Most of the other two sides had a huge wrap around porch that had a roof over it.

     

    IMG_0027 

    My cousin Brandon’s little gals surveying the drink options along with Novalee’s Kaitlin & Abigail in the back

    IMG_0022

    Mom & Aunt Miriam washing dishes

    the kitchen was not real big but was adequate for our needs.  The men had barbequed

    chicken outside.  Everyone brought a dish or two to share and drinks.  We all had plenty to eat

    IMG_0023 

    My cousin Charlotte’s Anita and my sister Novalee’s Abigail, 2 peas in a pod, same skin tone but hair as different as can be except for the curls!

    IMG_0024

    Here is Aunt Sandy with two of her grandchildren, Bertha’s Maddy, and Clinton’s Mitchell

    IMG_0030

    Here is Novalee’s Husband Darin, man in yellow shirt, with my twins in red shirts, my cousin Wendell in Navy blue shirt,back on either side of Cody is my cousin Bethany’s two boys, Colby & Ryan, and last but not least are Novalee’s two boys Brady & Sawyer

    Early in the day lots of the children and adults took hikes around on the trails looking for a way to get down to the Des Moine River. It was a lovely day.

    IMG_0031 

    some of the older men sat on the porch at the picnic tables

    left to right

    Uncle Fred, my dad Ray & Uncle Shannon

    IMG_0015

    Oscar was very involved in a Honduras soccer game

    There was lots of card games played and some of us put together puzzles.

    IMG_0047 

    Cody, Fred, Uncle Leonard & Darin

    IMG_0048

    Bethany’s Lizzie, Cecilia, Kaitlin, and Chancy

    IMG_0049

    my cousin Treston, Cousin Clinton, Cousin Bertha’s Husband Shelton with baby Wyatt and cousin Wendell.

    there was lots of visiting

    IMG_0046 IMG_0043

    IMG_0044 IMG_0045

    IMG_0036 IMG_0035

    IMG_0040

    and playing

    IMG_0041 

    cousin Brandon’s Serena

    IMG_0039

    Cousin Charlotte’s Anita, Mikaylia & Adam